

London Borough of Southwark

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

24 May 2011 at 7.00pm

Order of Proceedings for the Election of Mayor

Welcome

- 1. The meeting will appoint a councillor to chair the Mayor making part of the meeting.
- 2. The Chair will welcome members and all guests to the meeting.
- 3. The Chair will invite tributes from the leaders of the political groups to the Mayor of Southwark, Councillor Tayo Situ, who sadly passed away on 9 May 2011. A minute's silence will be held.

Mayoral nominations for the 2011-12 municipal year

- 4. In accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, the Chair will ask for nominations for the office of Mayor for 2011/12.
- 5. The Chair will put the nomination(s) to the meeting for the municipal year and, when the motion has been duly carried, the person named therein will assent to the resolution.
- 6. The Chair will declare the nominee, the duly elected Mayor of Southwark for the ensuing year 2011/12.
- 7. The Chair preceded by the macebearer with the mace and followed by the Mayor-elect and the Chief Executive, will then retire to the Mayor's parlour.

Inauguration of Mayor and Deputy Mayor

- 8. The Mayoral party will return to the chamber bearing the chain of office and take a position on the dais. The Mayor-elect will read and sign the declaration of acceptance of office.
- 9. The Chair will invest the newly elected Mayor with the chain of office and offer congratulations.
- 10. The new Mayor will present a replica of the Mayoral badge to the outgoing Mayor's family.
- 11. The Mayor will nominate their Consort and announce the appointment of the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.
- 12. The new Deputy Mayor will be escorted to the dais by the macebearer. The new Deputy Mayor will be invested with the Deputy Mayor's badge by the Mayor. The new Deputy Mayor will then take a seat on the dais.

Speech by the newly elected Mayor and Mayoral Procession

- 13. The newly elected Mayor will address the assembly.
- 14. The Mayor, preceded by the macebearer and followed by the Deputy Mayor, the Chair, and the Chief Executive, will take their leave. The Mayoral procession will be followed by past Mayors and invited guests. Thereafter there will be a five minute adjournment prior to the commencement of the constitutional section of the meeting.